30 Days to Live: Living in the Moment (3 of 5)

Lord, make me to know my end, and what is the extent of my days, let me know how transient I am.  Behold, You have made my days as handsbreadths, and my lifetime as nothing in Your sight, surely every man at his best is a mere breath.  Psalm 39:4-5

 

What is that one thing that you’re waiting for life to be perfect before you do it?  Maybe it’s something financial or material—when I get out of debt, I’ll get this; when I get a raise, I’ll pay off this.  There’s no area of life that we do this more than in our relationship with Jesus. 

  • When I get some things straight in my life, I’ll become a Christian…
  • When I clean up my act, I’ll follow Jesus…
  • When I have more time, I’ll read my Bible…
  • When work slows down, I’ll teach my kids about Jesus…
  • When I have more money, I’ll live more generously…
  • When my friend specifically asks about God, then I’ll talk to them…
  • When my life is more stable, then I’ll get serious about God…

Let’s be honest about this type of reasoning:  the “when” never comes.  There’ll never be more hours in the day, work will always be busy, we’ll always want more money, we’ll always be waiting for that other person to approach us, and life will always be hectic.  Not only that, but when we say those things, we’re arrogant enough to believe that we have more time.  Look at what the Bible says in James 4:13-17,

 

Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”  As it is, you boast and brag.  All such boasting is evil.  Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.

 

James calls this “when game” boasting because it is both arrogant and ignorant to assume that tomorrow will come for us.  James calls it sin for us to put off until an uncertain tomorrow the good we must do today.  We must stop waiting for “when” and start acting now.  That means not waiting for life to slow down to get serious about God, to start living generously, to start serving others, to start mentoring your kids about Jesus, or whatever it is we know we need to do.

 

Think about Jesus.  The Bible tells us that on His way to Jerusalem, where he knew that he would die on the cross, that Jesus set his face toward Jerusalem.  He knew that his time had come.  He could have easily have turned around and walked away.  When he was so stressed out in the Garden of Gethsemane that he was sweating blood, He could have copped out—Oh, when I’m feeling better about getting the hell beat out of me and being nailed to a cross, I’ll do it.  But when the time came, He did it.  No excuses, no delays.  He went to the cross and took our sin upon Himself.

 

We can’t afford to wait for “when” to get serious about loving God and loving people.  In order to live in the moment, we must turn “when” into now.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in 30 Days to Live, Intentional Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

