30 Days to Live: Living with an Eternal Perspective (3 of 5)

Lord, make me to know my end, and what is the extent of my days, let me know how transient I am.  Behold, You have made my days as handsbreadths, and my lifetime as nothing in Your sight, surely every man at his best is a mere breath.  Psalm 39:4-5

The apostle Paul (the dude who planted lots of churches and wrote most of the New Testament) knew all about what was truly important.  In his life before becoming a sold-out follower of Jesus Christ, Paul took pride in his family history, his education, his public position, and his almost insane enthusiasm for God.  But after becoming a Christian, look what Paul thought about those things in the Bible book of Philippians 3:7-8,

 

But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ

 

“Rubbish” is a rather sterile and nice way to translate the actual word Paul used.  He dropped the s-bomb.  He considered all the things that he thought were important to be a big, steaming pile of… you know what.  What was truly important above everything else was knowing Jesus Christ.  Paul could live in the moment because he had an eternal perspective.  He focused on what was truly important.

 

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in 30 Days to Live, Intentional Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

