30 Days to Live: Living with an Eternal Perspective (4 of 5)

Lord, make me to know my end, and what is the extent of my days, let me know how transient I am.  Behold, You have made my days as handsbreadths, and my lifetime as nothing in Your sight, surely every man at his best is a mere breath.  Psalm 39:4-5

 An easy way to determine if something is truly important is to put it to the 100 years test.  Try it:

 

  • In 100 years, will it matter that the living room hadn’t been dusted in two weeks?
  • In 100 years, will it matter if I didn’t invest my life in a friend who didn’t know Jesus?
  • In 100 years, will it matter if I never got the 60” HDTV?
  • In 100 years, will it matter if I didn’t take the time to mentor my kids to love and follow Jesus?
  • In 100 years, will it matter if my kids weren’t involved in 15 extra-curricular activities each?
  • In 100 years, will it matter if the focus of my life was a pile of s*** instead of Jesus?

 

Hopefully, you get the point.  If it won’t matter in 100 years, then it won’t really matter in the next 30 days—no matter how emotional we get about it at the time.  But if it will matter in 100 years, then it will matter for eternity.  And if it matters for eternity, what are we waiting for?  What’s keeping us from making what’s truly important truly important right now? 

 

We must live with an eternal perspective so that we may live in the moment.

 

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in 30 Days to Live, Intentional Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

