No Reason to Fear

Psalm 91

Everyone is afraid of something (even though some of us will never admit it).  Me?  I’m like Indiana Jones.  I’m afraid of snakes.  I hate snakes.  I’ll scream like a little girl when I see a snake.  I hate ’em.  My wife hates snakes more than I do (she can’t watch them on TV).  What a frightened pair we make!

Everyone is afraid of something.

Although Psalm 91 has confused smart theology guys for a long time (who wrote it, who is it written to, who is this about, etc.), one thing is clear–if you trust in God, you have nothing to fear.  Nothing can separate you from God’s love–no matter what you’re experiencing, no matter how you feel.  God is faithful to His promises through Jesus (although several scriptures do indicate that it is certainly possible for a person to walk away–to commit apostasy–from God). 

So what are you afraid of?  Death?  Financial ruin?  Loneliness?  Something else (something more significant than snakes)?  The last three verses of this psalm give me comfort.  Look at Psalm 91:14-16,

Because he has loved Me, therefore I will deliver him; I will set him securely on high, because he has known my name.  He will call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will rescue him, and honor him.  With a long life I will satisfy him, and let him behold My salvation.

No matter what life throws at us, we have no reason to fear.  Even if death takes us, it’s only temporary.  We’ve got eternity to look forward to, when fear will disappear.  Forever.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Bible Readings: Psalms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

