Old Navy T-Shirts

Psalm 93

For Father’s Day, my wife spent $50 on me at Old Navy.  The reason–my t-shirt collection is growing old, worn out, and rather musty.  I probably spend an average of, oh, $1.50 on myself on clothes each year.  I just wear stuff until it wears out, or can stand up on it’s own and walk around.  Old Navy was having a pretty good sale on its graphic t-shirts ($8 per shirt… not bad).  One of the shirts I picked up is similar to this one (except this one looks like it could be cut for a girl.  I don’t know.  I’m not fashion expert):

beer is good for you t-shirt

Oh no.  A preacher with a beer shirt?  One that seems to promote the idea that beer is beneficial?  And it has a woman on it with short shorts?  Scandalous!

It’s pretty ding-danged funny (I’m actually wearing it as I write it).  It’s funny because:

  • The shirt is funny.  Just say “Beer is good for you” out loud.  It’s frickin’ hilarious.
  • I don’t drink.  Not because the Bible says not to (it actually seems to promote the opposite, in moderation, but that’s a subject for another post).  I just don’t like beer.  And for a few medical reasons… thus the irony of the shirt on me.  Beer is actually not good for me personally.
  • My wife pointed this out to me the second she saw it:  The apostle Paul would have his church planting buddy Timothy wear the shirt (check out 1 Timothy 5:23).  Maybe one without the lady.  But Timothy would rock out that shirt.
  • I probably will stick with wearing it around the house.  Unless I go to visit a brand new church.  Then it’s on… just to see what the reaction of people will be. 

Regardless of what you think about my new shirt, I love it.  And I’ve needed some new shirts for awhile.  I also picked up a few other T-shirts, and a decent looking button up for fall.  I needed some new shirts because my old shirts just don’t cut it.  They’re useful now only as dusting rags… and my wife will probably not allow them to be used for that.

I wrote all of that so I could write this:  most of us have no problem updating our wardrobe because our old one is no longer fitting (either worn out or literally not fitting… either because we’ve added or lost a few pounds).  But how many of us are living fitting lives?  How many of us who claim to be followers of Jesus have lives that aren’t fitting to that claim?

Psalm 93 is by an unknown author and is about an unknown circumstance.  What is clear is that the author is proclaiming God’s power.  The middle of the psalm speaks of floods rising.  The chances are good that the author is using a torrential flood to describe heathen kings or nations and their attempts to invade ancient Israel.  Thus, the psalm shows God’s power through delivering His people from such aggressors.  The final verse in the psalm says this,

Your statutes stand firm; holiness adorns your house for endless days, O LORD.

The author could be talking about the temple or the nation.  It doesn’t matter.  Today, the church is God’s community, family, and temple.  Holiness–a separation from sin–must adorn the church.  For many Christians, this is happening.  They are repenting of sin.  They are allowing God to change them.  They’re putting off old habits and putting on new, Christ-like habits (as Colossians 3:5-10 and other Scriptures say we’re to do).  But the sad fact is that, for most, it’s not.  We behave just like everyone else.  We’re just as likely to cheat on our spouse, get drunk, get pissed off, etc.

Metaphorically speaking, some of us need to get rid of our old t-shirts and get some new ones.  We need to allow God to invade our hearts, expose our sin, and change us.  It’s a hard process.  It’s a painful process.  It’s a necessary process.  It’s a vital process.  I’ve been there.  I am there.  Always “cleaning out the closet”, so to speak.

What about you?  If you claim to follow Jesus, what parts of your “closet” need to be cleaned out?  What needs to be pitched and replaced? 

It’s not enough to simply throw out the old.  We must put on the new as well.

 

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Bible Readings: Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old Navy T-Shirts

  1. Justin Dunn says:

    actually, beer is good for you. of course there can not be real research done because of ethics, but in the early 1900’s and earlier they would pay sailors with spirits as well as money. there is a documented case of two ships that made and incrediably long journey. one was stocked with spirits and the other was not. the ship with no spirits ended up with half the crew either dying or having serious inffection or disease. whereas the other ship, with spirits, everyone was healthy, hearty, and in high spirits. interesting. and speaking as a pastor who highly enjoys a beer on a regular occasion, its good to know.

  2. F says:

    Thank you for your words. I stumbled upon your blog in a search (and I’m blessed because it had nothing to do with T-shirts.) What is related is the adornment of God’s garment and my prayer of submitting to membership in my church. May God bless and keep you until the day we tremble and glory at his holiness.

  3. Aaron says:

    Justin:
    If you don’t have oranges on a ship, hope you have some Guiness to kick some scurvy ass! My whole thing is completely medical–I’m on some meds that, combined with alcohol, will nuke my liver in half the time that regular (even if moderate) alcohol consumption could do it. So I have something with alcohol, like, once a year. Give me a good cigar instead!

    F:
    Thanks for stopping by! Glad my verbal t-shirt excursion was of help!

  4. Heather says:

    Maybe that’s my stomach problem…I just don’t drink enough! Actually, the nurse at work told me it’s probably because of all the whiskey…haha gag me. Thanks for the links to the verses you reference. You’re smart to realize that not one person who reads this blog will actually go into the other room to get their Bible and look up that verse. And thanks for the post! Later…

Leave a Reply

