Freaking Out

Psalm 94

When was the last time you freaked out about something?  I tend to do it a lot–more than I really should.  I’m a “plan for the worst, hope for the best” kind of person.  I’m absolutely sure that the worst case scenario will become reality, but I hope the best case scenario will somehow come true.  Most of the time, I find that I had no reason to be buggin’.  Being this way is good in some cases–I think through what could happen, while some people just sit back and ignore the possibility of total disaster.  But it’s also terribly crippling in some cases–times when I should chill out and not get all bent out of shape.  I’ve had days where I’ve been completely paralyzed mentally because of a situation–I can’t stop my mind from replaying the possible outcomes.  On days like that (which happen about 1 or 2 days a year), I get very little done, except praying.  The next day, I’m still bugged out, but I’ve dealt with it and am able to move on.

Psalm 94 is all about God’s vengeance upon His enemies.  Toward the end of the Psalm, the author talks about losing it.  Look what he writes in Psalm 93:17-19,

If the Lord had not been my help, my soul would soon have dwelt in the abode of silence.  If I should say, “My foot has slipped,” Your lovingkindness, O Lord, will hold me up.  When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your consolations [comforts] delight my soul.

In the midst of everything he’s facing, the author of Psalm 94 might be freaked out, but God’s comfort resets his focus.  In the midst of chaos, he can find peace.

I now find this very true in my own life.  When I’m ready for a mental meltdown due to a situation, God’s comforts get me refocused and bring me peace.  I know He will provide for me.  I know that potentially disastrous situations are opportunities for growth and reliance on Him.  I know that the situation isn’t permanent, that it will pass.

God’s consolations–His comforts–come in many forms.  The cross.  The resurrection.  Promises for eternity.  Seeing His working in the lives of people.  Seeing His working in my own life.  The Bible is a huge comfort for me.  All of these things have served to reset my focus when I’m freaking out.

What about you?  When you’re freaking out, what does God use to comfort you?

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Bible Readings: Psalms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freaking Out

  1. He usually comforts me with reminders of how blessed I really am. Most of the time, I am reminded by what I read in the Bible. But sometimes that comes from my hubby. Sometimes it’s when I see my nephews and nieces’ faces. And other times it comes from a good friend. Today, it came from your blog! I appreciate your wisdom and your openness. Thanks for the reminder! Hope you and the family are doing well!

  2. Aaron says:

    Melissa,
    We are doing very well! Hope you guys are, too!

Leave a Reply

