Blogs I Read: Vince Antonucci

This week, I’m on vacation at the OBX.  In my absence, I’ve conjured up some posts about other people who post on blogs… and they do a dang good job at it.  So read, then go visit them…

Years ago, I went to the second ever service of a new church in VA Beach called Forefront Christian Church.  I absolutely hated it.  Secular music.  A sermon called “What Would Jesus Say to Kurt Cobain?” Funny videos.  In my book, it was blasphemy.  I wrote the Forefront staff to let them know about it.

Boy, did they ever get a laugh at my expense (and deservedly so). 

Vince Antonucci was one of the original team that launched Forefront back in 1997 (I think it was ’97).  He didn’t discover Jesus until college.  He found churches to be weird, but stuck it out anyway.  He went to seminary, he interned at one of the largest churches in America, and then started Forefront.  Having now been in the church planting game for several years now, I know exactly why I hated Forefront (at first)–I was supposed to, because I was already a Christian.

I now appreciate Vince big time because, quite simply, he gets it.  He gets it because he’s been there–a dude who didn’t go to church growing up who found himself believing in Jesus and trying to make sense of this whole church thing.  He planted a church for people who hate church, and he (and the rest of the staff and church) will do anything short of sinning to help people find Jesus (his words, not mine).

Vince started his blog (vinceantonucci.com) to help other church planters.  He has shared his insights on church planting principles, sermon series, music, attitudes–a ton of info is available at his site.  He’ll occassional blog about conferences he speaks at–most recently in Poland.  He’ll also blog about books he’s reading, and encourages his readers to interact with his thoughts.  Occassionally, you’ll even get one of Forefront’s videos… which are hilarious (but, if you’re a comfy Christian, will offend you… which probably needs to happen).

His blog has certainly helped my thinking a lot.  Even if you’re not a church planter, you should give Vince’s blog a whirl.  You’ll be glad you did.  Not only that, go check out Vince’s book that came out earlier this year.  It’s a frickin’ awesome read (especially if you like jokes about elephant proctologists):  I Became a Christian and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt.

And, Vince, if you’re reading this… buy a new freakin’ sweater!  Or take a new picture every once in a decade!  Love ya, dude.  Keep kickin’ ass in Jesus’ name.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

