Sunrise, Moonrise

Psalm 104

Have you ever stepped outside, looked around, and just been blown away by nature?  For some of you reading this, that may be a tough thing to do because you live in the middle of an urban or suburban sprawl.  You may not even be able to see the stars at night because of all the light pollution.  I remember my first experience with light pollution.  I was in my early teens, and we were on a trip, and we stayed with a buddy of mine in the Hamptom Roads area.  I remember playing basketball at, like, 10:00 PM.  It was so bright outside–the sky was glowing red–because of all the light pollution.  When I was little, I remember being able to walk outside at night and see the stars so clearly… and now it’s very “fuzzy”, because there are no less than seven cities and towns all around the horizon that have enough light to wipe out the horizon.  But there are still places you can can where you’re just blown away by nature.  For me, it’s the beach. 

Last month, on our vacation to the OBX, I couldn’t sleep one night because the bed was so darn hard.  I got up at 3:30 AM, watched some TV, and then headed out to the beach to watch the sun rise.  Absolutely amazing… the sand, the dawn’s first light glistening off the surf, the sound of the waves, the glow of the clouds.  I just sat there and prayed, thanking God for the spectacular light show.  There’s only one thing that can beat it… a full moon rising over the ocean.  That’s jaw dropping.

Psalm 104 is a reflection over God’s work of creation, and the author is absolutely blown away with what he sees.  Here is his reaction in Psalm 104:33-34,

I will sing to the Lord as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.  Let my meditation be pleasing to Him; as for me, I shall be glad in the Lord.

Yeah… me, too.

What about nature and creation just blows you away, and brings a response like the author of Psalm 104:33-34?

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Bible Readings: Psalms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

