Whatcha Talkin’ ‘Bout, Willis?

Remember that show from the late ’70s and early ’80’s, “Diff’rent Strokes”?  Actor Gary Coleman had the show’s signature line:  whatcha talkin’ ’bout, Willis?  I don’t remember much of it because I was really little when it was on, but I do remember it was funny.

When you have the last name “Willis”, people tend to throw that line at you a bunch.  Such is the case with Dave Willis, a preacher in Newport News, VA.  I’ve known Dave for about 12 years now.  Dave planted a church in the ’90’s in VA Beach, Christ’s Church of the Peninsula (which has since merged with another church).  It was the first church I had been to that would have been considered “cutting edge” by most churches, and it is where I was bitten by the church planting bug.  So much thanks, Willis, for those early days in the weird Shriner’s Convention Hall (or whatever it was) with the human skulls backstage.

Dave’s a straight shooter, a no-nonsense, damn the torpedoes kind of guy.  You may not agree with Dave, but you’ll certainly know where he stands… and that he still loves you.  Dave is all about Jesus, and all about the truth of the gospel.

Dave recently gave my blog some love on his blog, so I want to return the favor.  So go check out his blog, “Whatcha Talkin Bout Willis?” 

And thanks for the props, Willis.  I hear what you’re talkin’ ’bout.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whatcha Talkin’ ‘Bout, Willis?

  1. David Willis says:

    Thanks bro! I still remember you preaching for us at CCP… “I see dead people…” I’m glad to see you are still dedicated to the King & His Kingdom. Keep on keeping on for Jesus!

  2. Aaron says:

    Wow. You remembered what I preached about, and I have no clue… but now I remember it like it was yesterday. A ton of fun…

  3. lsaufley says:

    Awww . . . I loved CCP! Such good memories of our visits there! And going to, what was the name of that hamburger place that was close by? Something about a Penguin.

    Laura

Leave a Reply

