Let There Be Rock

For months, I’ve had to put up with my wife Laura’s obsession with the New Kids on the Block.  Yesterday, the antidote was released…

I bought it last night.  My first impression?  Awesome.

Here’s the video from the first release, “Rock ‘n Roll Train”:

Willis, if you’re reading this, AC/DC would chew up Hall and Oates and spit ’em out.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Let There Be Rock

  1. Laura says:

    Let’s see how creative we can be, umm . . . no let’s see how many times we can say “rock” or “rock and roll” or “rockin'” on our album. It sounds like everything else they have ever put out dating back to the 70s. I don’t get it.

  2. Aaron says:

    Yeah… and the Old Farts on the Corner sing about some “girl.” Every song. World without end. I know, because I’ve had to listen to it day and night for six months. I’m gonna get a shirt that says “I’m the girl that the New Kids sing about.” And I’m gonna make sure it’s about three sizes too small.

    I really don’t care if the new AC/DC album sounds like the others… because no one else sounds like them. It’s frickin’ awesome. Turn it up to 11…

  3. mkjergaard says:

    Thanks Aaron! I wondered what it sounded like. I’m sure I will purchase this soon.

  4. Aaron says:

    Sweet. Brian Johnson actually sings a little more than, well, the usual screaming. And Angus Young plays some slide guitar on one track.

  5. David says:

    Hey, I grew up with “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” (etc)…but you must remember Daryl Hall (at 63) can actually sing! H & O = the most successful duo in history!

  6. Aaron says:

    Willis,

    First, Hall and Oates… it sounds like a cereal for old people, right up there with “All Bran” and “Meuslix.” Second, “Back in Black” is the 2nd best selling album in the world ever, and the biggest selling album world wide by a band. Ever. 42 million worldwide. Every album that AC/DC has released in the US has gone platinum, most multi-platinum. Your boys… did OK… in the late ’70s and early ’80s. AC/DC continues to rock. My wife almost bought tickets to their show in DC at the Verizon Center next month. She waited several days, and they were sold out. H&O might sell out the local nursing home.

    So, when I’m old, and am having trouble stayin’ regular, I’ll take my Geritol and listen to some H&O to get the system moving. Until then, I’ll ride the rock ‘n roll train…

  7. lsaufley says:

    I kind of like Hall and Oates. “Ooh ooh, she’s a Maneater”. You gotta love those lyrics! Didn’t they also sing “M-e-t-h-o-d o-f l-o-v-e, it’s the method of modern love”?

    I love my new cell phone–when Aaron calls me it plays “You Shook Me All Night Long.” There are some AC/DC songs that I can tolerate!!!

  8. David says:

    No love for H & O? Back in the day at CCP we used “Highway to Hell” in one of our radio spots.

    Speaking of names – AC/DC does have additional connotations… I’d prefer the breakfast cereal myself.

    Also, Sinatra & Crosby (as in Bing) both outsold AC/DC, so we can agree that record sales isn’t the only important criteria.

    Rock on bro.

  9. Aaron says:

    Other connotations that are totally urban legends… stuff that good religious mommies used to scar their kids into not listening to it (which only led the kids to listening to more of it). They got the name off the AC/DC label on the back of a sewing machine. The connotation I get from H&O… explosive diarhea if I listen to too much of it. You can rock out (well, mellow out) to H&O all you want. I’ll still love you anyway, bro.

    As classic as Sinatra and Crosby are, they recorded, like dozens upon dozens of albums each. None of them sold 42 million. Second all-time, baby. What’s first? Michael Jackson… which really does prove your point (sometimes, crap sells).

  10. David Willis says:

    Thaks Laura. I know Aaron never thought he’d see lyrics from Maneater & Method of Modern Love on his blog. I’d add more but I can’t go for that – no can do.

  11. Aaron says:

    I have absolute power on what is allowed on this blog and what is not. Don’t think for a minute that I won’t wipe the memory of H & O off this blog as a man wipes a dish…

  12. Heather says:

    HEY I just read last weekend that AC/DC lives in the same town where my dad lives now in Florida!!!!!!! ROCK ON maybe I’ll see them in Publix when I go down there. Although I might not recognize any of them because all I’ve seen them in is rockumentarys…mostly I’ve just listened to their music.

    AND by the way go right now to Netflix and put Metal: A Headbanger’s Journey in your queue. It is the best metal documentary EVER EVER although I wish he would’ve interviewed OTEP but at least he put her in concert. Wow there are a lot of caps in this comment and I should go now because I could talk about this all night.

  13. Aaron says:

    I know Brian Johnson lives in Sarasota. He has a huge AC/DC lightning bolt in his backyard and a guitar shaped pool.

  14. Laura says:

    Babe, do you just sit around reading wikipedia and google articles about AC/DC all day long?

    I can’t talk I guess. Did you know that Jordan Knight’s kids are named Eric and Dante, his mom is named Marlene, he has a home in Orlando and he loves to eat cupcakes? I’m a dork, I confess.

Leave a Reply

