Preventing Shame

Psalm 119:1-8

Psalm 119 is a beast–it is 176 verses long and divided into 22 sections (one for each letter of the Hebrew alphabet).   So I’m going to divide it up, and write about my observations from each section, and see how each can help me continue to walk the road less traveled.  Today, the “Aleph” section:

Oh that my ways may be established to keep Your statutes!  Then I shall not be ashamed when I look upon all Your commandments.  Psalm 119:5-6

Why would I be ashamed to look at God’s commands?  Sin.

The author says that the person is blessed–happy–who walks in the law of God and observes his testimonies and seek him with all their heart.  When our ways–how we live–aren’t established to live as God intends us to, we experience shame, guilt, and regret.  Some people seem not to–their consciences are seem to have been so numbed by sin that they are, indeed, numb to sin.

What areas of my life am I ashamed when I look at God’s commands?  I still have a short fuse.  I am gluttonous.  Lust still makes its presence known from time to time.  This is my war with sin.  This is my battle to establish my ways to keep God’s statutes and thus prevent shame.

What is your battle?

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Bible Readings: Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

