Yawn…

Last week, we drove eight hours to Louisville, KY (over two days), spent a lot of time driving on Friday and Saturday, then drove nine hours back to VA on Sunday (through lots of fog and rain).  I had to turn around on Monday and drive nearly two hours on back roads through snow in the mountains (I sound like a really old person) to go speak at the Virginia Farm Bureau’s State Convention.  Immediately after I finished, I had to drive back so that my wife could go see a few patients.

I’m tired.  Driving makes you tired.

It didn’t help that the convention was at The Homestead.  Don’t take me wrong–it’s a great place.  It’s really impressive, nestled in the mountains.  The accomodations were amazing.  The bed slept better than any hotel bed I’ve ever slept in.  The problem was… the place is HUGE.  I spent about an hour walking around the place.  It felt like I was in the movie “The Shining.”  I was waiting on a little kid to come riding around the halls on his tricycle and find Jack Nicholson in one of the ballrooms typing out “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy” while descending into madness.  I then went over my remarks in the lobby that was the size of a football field.  Then I watched a few minutes of SportsCenter on one of two (two!) 50 inch LCD’s in my room.

I didn’t go to sleep until 12:45.  The alarm went off at 6:00.

It was a cool experience, but I need some sleep in my own bed.  I didn’t get a whole lot done after I got back in the office yesterday.  Maybe today will be better…

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

