Yawn… (Part 2)

Yesterday, I posted about how tired I was, and it got me thinking about how there are seasons of worn-out-ness in my life, and probably everyone else’s, too.  So, I’m doing a short little blog series reflecting on being tired.

Today:  why am I so beat?

Let’s look at the reasons…

  1. Lack of sleep.  I usually get around six hours of sleep a night.  I can go on six hours of sleep each night for a long time.  But it seems like every once in awhile, it catches up with me.
  2. Lots of travel.  I have a huge respect for people who have to travel a lot for their jobs, especially truckers.  I’m always asking some of my buddies who are truckers how they do it–how do they drive eight, ten, twelve hours a day several days a week, often on little sleep?  Their bodies have adjusted to their schedule.  Mine, not so much.  Like I wrote yesterday, we drove eight hours out to KY last week, nine hours back (due to weather), and did a decent amount of running around between the trips.  Then I spent two hours on the road Monday evening (up and down some mountains in the snow) and a shade under two hours coming back.  I’m not used to that much driving in such a short span, and it wears me out.  Yeah, I know.  I’m a wimp.
  3. Diet.  Those of you who know me know that I’m not exactly the healthiest of eaters (although I’d be willing to bet that my cholesterol is better than yours).  But recently it has been even less so.  Laura and I go through soda binges every once in awhile.  We crave it.  It could almost be described as an addiction.  And recently, we’ve been on one.  Every once in awhile, not so big a deal.  But chugging it like it’s the last water on earth, not so great.  Too many carbs.  Too many empty calories.  Too big of a crash.

Those are the three main culprits that I can think of.  Tomorrow, I’ll tell you what results when I’m worn out…

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yawn… (Part 2)

  1. David says:

    Thanks for making me yawn! I looked at that picture and immediatley yawned! Thanks again – because now I’m sleepy and will very unproductive…and yawning again!

    Seriously, Ii do the same sleep stuff as you and it does start to catch up to you at some point. That’s why we have caffeine or naps. A nap follwed by caffeine is usuallty the best combo.

    I hope you get your mojo back soon.

Leave a Reply

