Yawn… (Part 4)

Last week, I posted about being tired–what makes me tired, and what being tired does to me.  Today, I’m finishing up this mini-series with what I’m doing to wake back up so as to prevent Satan from digging his claws into me.

  1. Spiritual aerobics.  I’m getting back into the Bible like I was a few weeks ago.  I’m going to start in the post-exile history books of Ezra and Nehemiah.  Both of them have elements of revival in them, so they are a great place for me to start.  I’m going to work on getting my prayer stuff back in order.  I tend to pray throughout the day, but I also recognize the value of setting aside time to pray intensely.  I know that when I do these things, I’m in much better shape physically.  I also need to let some of my guys in on my struggles.  I tend to keep things to myself, and that’s just retarded.  I need to take advantage of the community I have.
  2. More water, less sugar.  I’ve gotta stop loading up on soda and put more water in my body.  I also bought some cranberry juice (which is good for my one kidney that works), which I water down 50-50 to stretch it out.  So, I may not be super successful on this one, but I’m going to try.  I know that when I’m not binging on Dr. Pepper, I’ve got more energy and focus.  And yeah, yeah, yeah… I should start exercising more and eat organic plants and get a colonic.  Probably not gonna happen right now.  One thing at a time…
  3. Repent.  I need to repent of the anger, especially when I vent it toward my family.  I need to actively repent of laziness and start serving others again.  I need to be watchful of my thoughts and work towards purity of mind.  I need to repent of worry and replace my trust in God.

What do you find to be helpful in snapping out of a tired season?

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yawn… (Part 4)

  1. Cribb says:

    These are good posts. I hardly ever get sick, but I have a really hard time when my other medical problems give me pain. When my foot was broken, I would get stressed and not take time for God and be short with Reber all the time because all my ways to deal with stress were taken away. When I’m stressed, I get really anxious and kinda mean. I couldn’t exercise, I couldn’t cook, I couldn’t eat well or even drink a beer (or even a Dr. Pepper!) due to other problems…I was a dang mess! But it did help me to relate better to my neighbor because she is always in pain due to back troubles. Anyway, I think I pretty much failed that test but I’m doing my best to get on the right track! And thank goodness I’m feeling much better too.

    It helps me to pray with Reber and make sure I’m reading my Bible. Also, I’m not a huge TV person, but when I don’t feel good I just plop down and get behind in everything and it creates tension for me. So I need to cut off the TV and this dang computer. NOW!!

Leave a Reply

