A Confession

Recently, I’ve really been working on doing things in Jesus name–looking for opportunities to serve someone and let them know why I do it.  I’m finding that I’m failing more than succeeding.  I’m seeing opportunities more, but I’m totally screwing up the second part.  Here’s an example.

Last night, we went to grab some subs at Subway.  The line was really long, and there was only one dude working that night.  People weren’t just ordering one sub–they were ordering multiple subs (we had four to get ourselves).  It took a good twenty minutes before it was our turn.  This kid cranked out our subs (as he did the others before ours), didn’t look the least bit bummed, and was super polite.  We were the last people in the store.  He rang us up, gave us our change.  I took a quick look at it, kept the coin, and gave him the cash (which came out to be something like a 30 percent tip).  I told him something like, “You busted your backside while I was here.”  He  lit up and was super appreciative.  We walked out the door (I think Laura was waiting on me).  She said, “That was sweet.  Did you tell him it was because of Jesus?”

Crap.

I failed. 

Guilt rushed over me (it’s still nagging at me).  I had a great chance to say, “Hey dude, you’re working hard.  Thanks for busting your backside.  Here’s a little something for you, because I want to tell you Jesus loves you.”  I didn’t do it.  I’ve preached about doing stuff in Jesus’ name.  I’ve taught about doing stuff in Jesus’ name.  I’ve done stuff in Jesus’ name.  And this time I failed.  The last several times I’ve failed.

I prayed, asking God for his forgiveness.  Now I ask yours–especially those of you who’ve heard me talk about this stuff.  Last night, I was a hypocrite.  Now I must set myself to the task of repentance, and doing things in Jesus’ name.  Otherwise, I’m just doing something good.  Anyone can do something good.  But only a follower of Jesus can do something good and give it an eternal aroma. 

God, help me to pay more attention to the opportunities you give me, and help me to always remember why I do things–Jesus.  May I never again forget to do things in Jesus’ name.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Confession

  1. David says:

    I have struggled with the exact same thing. I just don’t close the deal. I get this “this is going to sound hokie” feeling and and I just kep my BIG trap shut. Maybe we should just sport Jesus t-shirts 24/7…just kidding.

    • Aaron says:

      We have a witness!

      T-shirts are so late ’90’s. Let’s get some Jesus tattoos. That would be more culturally relevant 🙂

      Part of this for me is exactly what you’ve described. Another part is my background–the “our doors are open, so come check us out” thing that I grew up in. Neither are excuses. Both are failures to me.

      Thanks for having the stones to jump into the fail boat with me on this one. Let’s both make an effort to open our big mouths about Jesus more.

  2. lsaufley says:

    What is worse is when you are thinking about it and then you STILL don’t say it. I accidentally took an extra storage bin from Family Dollar a few months ago without paying for it. I bought 4 but realized when I got home that I had 5 all together (they were stuck inside of each other).

    So I drove back over and told the girl that I needed to pay for a storage bin that I had mistakingly not paid for. She and her fellow cashier were AMAZED that I had gone back to pay for it. They talked and talked about honesty and how most people wouldn’t have done that and how they were very thankful that I had done that. I kept thinking, “tell them it’s because of Jesus”. But I didn’t do it. I just told them that I am too honest and that my conscience would bother me too bad if I didn’t come back and pay for it.

    Then I kicked myself all the way to the car for not telling them it’s because of Jesus. Why is that so hard? I think it’s like Dave said–I’m afraid I’ll sound “hokie”. What’s a good way to tell people without sounding “religious”–KWIM?

Leave a Reply

