Love Me Some Bible

Psalm 119 is a beast–it is 176 verses long and divided into 22 sections (one for each letter of the Hebrew alphabet).   So I’m going to divide it up, and write about my observations from each section, and see how each can help me continue to walk the road less traveled.  Today, the “Mem” section:

Psalm 119:97-104

This entire section screams “Love Me Some Bible.”  The author writes about how he meditates on the Bible, thinks about it, gets wisdom from it, gains understanding from it, and hates every false way because of it.

I know, from personal experience, that when I’m not regularly in my Bible (and not just for stuff like sermons or what book of the Bible our church is going through), I’m much less prone to hate every false way.  Sin entices me more.  Satan knows what buttons to push.  I get all frustrated, because I know one of the primary reasons that I fall to sin–I’m not in my Bible like I should be.  Right now is a good time for me–I’m really pouring over the Old Testament book of Obadiah (it’s one chapter long, and I’ve been reading and re-reading and thinking and note taking for a month).  There are other times when I’ll read 30-40+ chapters a week.  I just know I need to be in the Bible regularly, and not just reading to read, but interacting with it, praying about what I’ve read, looking for ways to apply my life to the Bible.

I remember having a conversation with a guy several years ago.  He was a new Christian, but life was getting in the way of his faith.  He would make excuses as to why he wouldn’t read his Bible.  He said, “I’m more interested in doing what God says than reading about it.”  My response:  “How can you know what to do if you don’t read it.”  He couldn’t say a thing.  It’s regretably no surprise that his faith eventually fizzled.

The cold, hard fact is this:  if you’re following Jesus, but not regularly interacting with the Bible, you’re really just walking blind.  Eventually, you’ll trip and fall.  Let the Bible be, as it claims to be, a lamp to your feet and a light to your path.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Bible Readings: Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

