My Buttercup

bangsTomorrow is Valentine’s Day, so I wanted to dedicate today’s post to my smokin’ hot wife, Laura.  Here are just a few of the things that make me love her more and more every day.

  1. She loves Jesus and wants to be like Him.
  2. She wants other people to know Jesus.
  3. She’s a great mom.  Our girls love her to death.
  4. She’s passionate about everything she does–decorating, friendships, parenting, when we fight, when we make up, everything.
  5. She sings the in the car.  To every song.  Loudly.  I act like it gets on my nerves (it only does when she puts in some NKOTB, and even then it’s only a little nerve wracking).
  6. She’s a great photographer.  She’s very humble about her abilities, but she’s got a great eye.  And she isn’t one of those photographers who sets her camera on Automatic and then Photoshops everything to death.  She lets her camera do the work, and Photoshop to accentuate her photos.  Seriously, you should contact her about doing some portraits of your family.
  7. She’s strong-willed.  So am I, so that can lead to some heated conflict at times, but she sticks by her guns when it comes to what she believes in and stands for.
  8. She’s great at her job.  She doesn’t see nursing simply as the means to pay the bills.  She cares about her patients, even the occasional grumpy ones that can drive anyone nuts.  Hopefully, when we move, she can devote more time to photography.
  9. She’s open to new ideas–especially when it comes to our girls.  For instance, she’s really doing her homework when it comes to homeschooling.  My oldest daughter just moved up to second grade, and she’s still a little bored.  Laura is totally an advocate for her, and convinced me that moving her up to second grade was a good idea.  The same can be said for homeschooling, which we may pursue when we move.
  10. She’s very creative.  She scrapbooks, she makes jewelry, her photography–she’s totally creative.
  11. She’s developing a heart for the poor and the needy.
  12. She’s sarcastic.  Bitingly sarcastic.  I love a sassy woman!
  13. When we were engaged, she flew back from Indonesia a week early and stayed in the hospital with me after my transplant.  She kept that scary male nurse away who always wanted to give me an enema.
  14. She bought me some camo Chucks for our anniversary last year.  I LOVE those things!
  15. She makes fun of my everyday shoes ($10 Velcro shoes from Wal-Mart).
  16. Her decorating sense is dead on.  I may not like a paint color, but she totally makes it work.
  17. She knows how to push my buttons (if you know what I mean… wink, wink.  We’ll leave it at that!).
  18. She’s got an eclectic music taste… and it’s rubbing off on my girls (Annagrace’s favorite song is “Slow Ride” by Foghat, and she also likes Queen; Madalyn is currently singing a Pink song over and over again).
  19. She’s a great writer.  Her blog is great!
  20. She encouraged me to write a book, even when I thought I had nothing to say.  Now that it’s almost finished, she’s going to edit it for me.
  21. She puts up with my weird obsessions–movies, root beer, cigars, and sometimes golf.
  22. She makes me a better person–especially when she kicks me in the ass when I’m not seeing or hearing something important.
  23. She loves me unconditionally.
  24. She’s my best friend.
  25. She is the greatest wife, friend, and lover a guy could ever have… and she’s mine.  I constantly thank God for her.

I love you, buttercup.  Thank you for loving me for the past twelve years.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Buttercup

  1. Laura says:

    You’re really racking up the brownie points, aren’t ya? And you beat me to the punch because I was going to blog all about YOU today.

    I love you too. And now I know the truth–my singing doesn’t really bother you. LOL!

Leave a Reply

