Old Habits Die Hard

For the past month, I’ve been posting about our adventures in selling a house in the midst of the worst economic situation that our nation has faced since the Great Depression.  In the midst of multiple showings, trying to keep the house staged with two adorable yet messy daughters, an open house, and tons of conversations with our realtor, I’ve had to come to grips with the fact that some old habits die hard.

Mine, as the cartoon above suggests, is worrying.

This is one of the risks that come with moving out of your comfort zone to do what God has called you to.  Your faith works a few muscles that haven’t been pushed in awhile, and you end up a little sore.  That’s happened to me in the past month.  I find myself worrying about several things…

  • Will the house sell?
  • Will it sell for what we’re asking?
  • Will we have to put a ton of money into something in order to sell it?
  • Will we find a house in Greenville that meets our needs, but isn’t extravagent and too expensive?
  • Will we find jobs?
  • Correct that last one–will I find a job?  Laura won’t have a problem.  But what if she does?
  • I’ve got a job interview–what will I tell them if they ask me for a starting date?

And that’s just for starters.  Old habits really do die hard.

I honestly believe that God’s timing for everything is perfect.  Our house will sell for the right price (according to God).  We will move at the right time (according to God) and in the right way (according to God).  I really want to develop the patience to trust Him.  I know that a year down the road, I’ll look back and laugh.

But that’s in a year.  And what happens if we’re still here in a year (see… there I go again)?

The old adage is true:  worrying is like a rocking chair–it gives you something to do, but it’ll never get you anywhere.  I’ve been praying a lot about this lately, about how I’ve tried to pray the right words or do the right thing that will move God to do His thing.  How retarded is that?  Like little insignificant me can force God to do anything.  I’ve found out that I’ve got a lot of repenting to do, and a lot of letting go to do.  All of these things I’m worrying about are out of my control.  They really are in His control.

Instead of trying to pray the “right thing”, maybe I should pray about my fear.  Maybe I should pray about my doubt.  Maybe I should pray about my faith (or lack of).  Maybe I need to pray for the strength to murder this sin of worry and put it to death instead of trying to manage it.

Maybe I need to believe and live out what the Bible says in James 1:2-4,

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.  And let endurance have its perfect result, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

Joy in trial (and trying to sell a house and move really isn’t that big of a trial), testing that produces endurance, endurance that produces maturity. 

That’s a habit I could live with.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

