Bart Ehrman Gets Schooled by Steven Cobert

Take a look over to the right in my widget column and you’ll see my new VodPod player.  The current video is a six minute clip of so-called scholar Bart Ehrman getting his backside handed to him by Steven Cobert.  Yeah, it’s comedy… but many of Cobert’s points are correct.  Ehrman is the author of such books as “Misquoting Jesus” (which is his view on the so-called mistakes of the Bible–I just finished it, and I wasn’t impressed at all) and his newest, “Jesus Interrupted”.  Ehrman’s shallow “scholarship” isn’t new–such arguments as he presents has been around for years, and has been refuted thoroughly.  So take six minutes and change and check out the video.

Tomorrow, I’m going to (at the request of my new friend Koffijah) post a profile of Discovery Christian Church–the church I planted eight years ago and am preparing to leave to plant a new church.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bart Ehrman Gets Schooled by Steven Cobert

  1. Nick Vipperman says:

    Dude, Ehrman got his hat handed to him.

    Good stuff.

    I have been doing the Examen as well…really great tool. I’ve also sent them to my Church people…quite a few are doing them too.

    Good luck on the move…new job…selling the house…etc.

    • Aaron says:

      Thanks, Vip. Two more weeks in VA, then we’re out.

      I love the Examen tool. It really helps me focus my prayers.

  2. Levi says:

    Wow man that was some funny stuff. Cobert though joking kind of made the guy look silly.

    As far as the examen tool it is great. I passed it a long to everyone I know. I sat in a teaching with a guy named Dean Truine (sp) when I was in Ireland and he taught us the same principles for effective study/prayer. I’ve been doing these same steps in a journal but, I being a tech guy like that now I can do it on my computer.

    Keep up the race man and when the dust settles from moving down here give me a shout I’d love to buy you some lunch and talk. (I mean our wives have already planned to go spend a couple days together at a Homeschool convention. The least we can do is sit in the same room and fight over whether or not the Celtics or Lakers will win. 🙂 )

    • Aaron says:

      Oh, there will be no fight. Lakers hands down this year. Too tough down low with both Bynum and Gasol (and we gave the series away last year).

  3. richard says:

    Aaron,

    just a word of caution. it is dangerous to use an act (someone who is so obviously playing a ginned up stereotyped role) like Cobert as a legit example of taking on Ehrman. This is not his first appearance on the Cobert Report; he knows the shtick. He still chooses to go on, because he knows it doesn’t hurt his image to let the made for tv Cobert bash him…it helps.

    i agree with your assessment of Ehrman, i just doubt Cobert does.

    • Aaron says:

      Oh, I totally get that. But he still made Ehrman look like a fool. And the points Cobert made (while in jest), many of them are legit. You can tell Cobert did his homework, especially with his repeated references to to gospel of John. I’m just saying, if a dude like Cobert can make Ehrman look foolish (even if it does help book sales), what can a real scholar do? Unfortunately, too many people refuse to think for themselves.

  4. katdish says:

    I’d be really interested to hear this guy’s take on all the prophecies Jesus fulfilled from the OT. Not that he made any kind of decent argument here, but he’d have to do quite a bit of debunking to do there.

Leave a Reply

