Mentoring: a Must

Yesterday, I met with my mentor/coach/accountability buddy Todd.  He preaches at a church of around 600 located thirty minutes from where I live.  For well over a year, we’ve met once a month for about two hours for encouragement, prayer, and challenge.  This time spent with Todd has been nothing short of remarkable for me.  Todd has the benefit of much more experience and wisdom that only time can give.  He has challenged me by asking good questions about what I’m doing.  He has challenged me to think and study through things.  We’ve worked on message series together (mostly for him–I haven’t “preached” on an every Sunday basis in two years).  We’ve been able to vent about ministry difficulties to each other (fortunately, these times have been very few and far between for both of us).

In short, this time has helped me to become a better Christian, a better man, a better husband, and a better father.

Mentoring is a must.  It is the best way for existing leaders to raise up new leaders who will raise up leaders that raise up leaders (that’s multiplication of leaders).  It keeps people honest and accountable.  I firmly believe that we need to be mentored by someone and be mentoring someone.  Being mentored keeps us accountable.  Mentoring someone ensures replication.

If you’re not being mentored, go find a mentor.  If you’re not mentoring someone, find someone to mentor.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Coaching/Mentoring, Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mentoring: a Must

  1. Nick Vipperman says:

    I would not have made it through these last two years of Lead Ministry without my mentor. Praise God for duded that are willing to do it. I hope God allow’s me to return the favor one day when I’m old and smart. 🙂

    • Aaron says:

      Dude, don’t wait until you’re old and smart. Start now while you’re young and smarter (than you were in your twenties). The payoff is astronomical.

Leave a Reply

