Good-bye, VA. Good-bye, Discovery.

Today is the last day I’ll have computer access for awhile, because tomorrow morning she’ll get packed up with the rest of our junk for the move to Greenville, NC. 

26 of my 31 years have been spent in VA–and in the same area.  I grew up near Harrisonburg, VA.  I went to college and got married in NC (I was there for five years–but came back for the first three summers).  I came back to the area in the spring of 2000 to plant a church.  That was nearly nine years ago.  I’ve seem my family grow from two to four in the last nine years (and now, one more is on the way).  I’ve planted a church, and then relaunched, relocated, and reorganized that same church in the past nine years.  There’s been a lot of heartbreak, but way more joy.

Yesterday was our last day with the church I planted, Discovery Christian Church.  It was such a cool time together.  All of our churches were represented.  We spent time encouraging each other about the future, and they surprised us with a great housewarming gift, cards, and a BBQ after church.  I love those guys–they’re gonna kick ass in Jesus’ name in the coming weeks, months, and years.  My last day with them wasn’t as tough as I thought it would be.  No tears, no sadness.  Part of the reason is that I’ve been preparing for it for so long.  The transition of leadership was as smooth as anything I could have hoped for.  Jesus is definitely Lord of this church.  He’s raised up and empowered some good guys for leading this church.  They’re in a good place right now, and they’re going in the right direction.  With the advances in technology over the last ten years (email, Facebook, Twitter, cell phones), keeping up with them will be easier than ever.  My parents still live in this area, so we’ll be back every so often.  I can’t wait to see what God does in the coming months and years through them (especially now that I’m out of the way!).

I’ll miss the mountains.  I’ll miss the area.  I’ll miss Jess’ hot dogs (boy, will I miss those things).  I’ll definitely miss the Discovery family.  But when you jump on God’s bandwagon and follow His calling, it’s exciting.  Scary and daunting?  Yes.  But it’s still one of the most thrilling things you will ever experience.

Even though I’ll have no computer access this week, I’ve prepared a series of posts called “U-Haul Memoirs”.  It’ll look at some of the lessons I’ve learned since I moved back to VA in 2000, and that I’ll take with me to NC.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good-bye, VA. Good-bye, Discovery.

  1. David Willis says:

    I’m looking forward to what God will do thru you in G-ville.

  2. Nick Vip says:

    Go get em’ dude.

    Praying for you in this transition time.

  3. Nikki Brungard says:

    Sniffling…

Leave a Reply

