“You do WHAT for a living?”

Before moving to NC, I’d been in full-time professional ministry for nearly five years.  Before that, I did what Christians call “tent-make”.  The term refers to a dude in the Bible we know as the apostle Paul.  When he was in the ancient Greek city of Corinth (the Las Vegas of the ancient first century world), he supported himself by making tents during the week and did church work on the weekends.  Tent-making now refers to working a “secular” job to make a living while doing ministry.

The five years I spent in professional ministry were great.  But the longer I went, the more uncomfortable I was with the idea of getting paid to preach, especially as the economy started it’s nosedive at the end of 2007.  When we knew God was calling us to NC, I knew that I would no longer be in “professional ministry.”  Would I still plant churches?  Absolutely.  Would I still “do ministry”?  You betcha.

I just wouldn’t get paid for it.

So how am I tent-making?  I’m a hospice chaplain.

(Insert collective gasp from readers here)

Starting tomorrow, I’ll let you in on the typical reactions I get from people as well as what my job is like.  And it isn’t what you may think…

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Hospice Chaplaincy, Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “You do WHAT for a living?”

  1. Susan says:

    What is your name?

  2. Davon says:

    Hi Aaron,

    I have been thinking about being a hospice chaplain for a while. How did you get the job? What training did your receive?

    Also, I used to minister near Greenville at Bell Arthur Christian Church. Looking forward to your reply!

    Be joyful always,
    Davon Huss

    • Aaron says:

      Hey Davon,

      God’s been good to me with this position. Many chaplain jobs require an M.Div. or at least 3-5 years in a clinical setting (or both). My company only requires a Bachelor’s, and they look at your pastoral experience. Granted, it probably doesn’t pay as well as if you had the M.Div., but it isn’t bad (and I get great benefits).

      It all depends on the company.

      • Davon says:

        Hi Aaron,

        Thanks for your reply!

        Please, if your company or another hospice has an opening for a hospice chaplain, I am very interested! The ones I have dealt with require an MDIV and Clinical Pastoral Education. They see that I do not have these two things and so they pass me over without considering my years of experience. I am very willing to work toward these two requirements but right now I am not in a position to do so. If a hospice would be willing to work with me to get this it would be an answer to prayer!

        Thanks for your time! Keep me posted on any hospice stuff!

        If you can, please tell me more about simple churches in Greenville?

        I am a fellow alum from Mid-Atlantic (Class of ’93)

        Be joyful always,
        Davon Huss

      • Aaron says:

        Hey Davon,

        It may take me some time to get back to you, but I’ll do the best I can!

Leave a Reply

