Future Book Ideas (Part 3)

I’ve been posting about ideas I have for future books.  Today I’ll reveal several ideas that have the same basic premise.  First, the premise…

I’m a Bible nerd.  I love reading the Bible, studying the Bible, researching the Bible, chewing on the Bible (well, not literally… I mean meditate on it).  I also love Bible commentaries.  I’ve come to realize, however, that Bible commentaries are written by ivory tower scholars for professional Christians who get paid to study the Bible.  Not only that, but most people would find them extremely boring (especially when they start talking about the syntax of a particular Greek phrase, which I find invigorating… but most would find sleep-inducing).  Why hasn’t someone written a commentary that, well, doesn’t read like a commentary?  A book that helps improve biblical literacy that doesn’t read like a textbook?

That’s the premise:  a commentary on a Bible book that doesn’t read like a commentary on a Bible book.  The added bonus is this–this could easily be packaged with small group material and sermon series stuff.

Second, the ideas for new books that would fall under this premise:

  1. “Sabotage”.  This would be on 1 John (maybe 1-3 John).  The message of 1-3 John is all about false teachers distorting the person and work of Jesus.  I’ve already preached a sermon series on 1 John, so this may simply be a reworking and expansion of that material.  Most of the hard work has already been done for this.
  2. “When  All Hell Breaks Loose”. This would be on (get ready for this) Habakkuk.  This little book is all about the prophet seeing the destruction of Judah by the Babylonians, and knowing he can do nothing about it.  It’s coming, and he can’t stop it.  He has a choice for how to live–either in despair or by faith.  This can apply to all kinds of situations that life throws at us.  Contrary to Joel Osteen and others like him, the Christian life isn’t about health and wealth.  Sometimes life sucks, and we have to choose how to live.
  3. A book on Jude. This idea hit me Monday morning in the shower.  Jude is just made for expansion on all the examples he warns his readers about.  Haven’t fleshed this one out as much, but I think it would be good.

Tomorrow, you’ll vote on which one I should write next…

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Future Book Ideas, Other Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Future Book Ideas (Part 3)

  1. Justin Dunn says:

    so yeah, we are thinking about writing a book on our very unique church planting experience. the book may be called “Whiskey wrote this book.” or maybe “Whiskey Planted This Church.” With chapters preceding such as “Whiskey wrote that sermon.” (which really happened) ha ha.

  2. Derek says:

    Ahead of you here. I wrote a commentary on Mark that was like this. It’s definitely needed in the church community. Particularly if you’re reaching biblically illiterate people. Highly necessary.

    Let’s get together sometime soon.

    • Aaron says:

      Dude, absolutely. I thought this week was going to be light. Turned out rather heavy. Whatcha got on Monday in the evening? And how can I get a copy of that commentary on Mark?

  3. Nikki B says:

    I’m pretty sure that book #2 is the same title I was going to use for my book. 😉

  4. Hey man – I totally realize what you are saying about commentaries being “tough to read” but I will say that Warren Weirsbe has some really good ones on the entire new testament. He did all those entitled “BE ….” like BE Joyful etc. I’ve always enjoyed those cause they are a good mix of biblical literacy and some language stuff mixed with personal stories to sort of make it applicable. I’ve found it VERY preachable and they took all of the little books and formed them into a 2 volume entire NT set. Not saying “don’t do yours” but just saying if you haven’t checked it out – it really is some good stuff – I LOVE THEM and have used it as one of my first “go to” books when writing sermons. I used them a lot while @ CCF. Just some of my 2 cents – but I like your plan as well!

  5. David Willis says:

    I voted for Jude because you didn’t have an “all the above” option.

Leave a Reply

