Log Off of YouTube and Read Something: Chasing Daylight

My wife found a copy of “Chasing Daylight” in a thrift store and bought it for me.  It’s the true story of a high power CEO who was diagnosed with terminal brain cancer, and how he spent the last three months of his life.  He got his affairs in order, “unwound” his relationships, and took control of his last days.  They became some of the most fulfilling days of his life.

I would venture to say nearly all of us have given little thought to how, if given the opportunity, we would live out the last days of our life.  I do so on almost a daily basis, given the job I have of a hospice chaplain.  I face human mortality all the time.  My job, combined with this book, along with the hope I have in Christ, are moving me to action to plan for the eventuality of the end of my life, whenever that may be.  Stuff like life insurance (which I already have), final wishes for stuff like a memorial service and whether or not I’ll be buried or cremated (I’m choosing cremation, because I can’t wait to see the good Lord put me back together), even thinking about mini-videos to film for my kids just in case something happens to me.

Morbid?  Maybe.  But to prepare now eliminates the pressure and task from my loved ones, no matter when my time in this life is over.  Maybe we should all prepare… because one day death will come calling for us (unless Jesus returns first).

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Log Off of YouTube and Read Something and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Log Off of YouTube and Read Something: Chasing Daylight

  1. Stuart says:

    I’m donating my body to science.

    1) Ofc, because I’m philanthropic, but also 2) I’m frugal (cheap, w/e) and don’t want my family to have to pay to dispose of my expired corpse.

    • Aaron says:

      That would be so cool… but be careful. I’ve heard of people doing that, and when the time came their body was rejected, leaving the family stuck with a body to get rid of.

Leave a Reply

