Log Off of YouTube and Read Something: The Prayer of Jabez

For those of you who’ve been in church long enough to know about this book, I realize that I’m nearly a decade behind this fad that came and went earlier this decade.  I saw this little book on my mom-in-law’s bookshelf.  It’s extremely short, so I picked it up and finished it in a little over an hour.  The reason I avoided reading it is because some of the language makes it sound like it’s a “Your Best Life Now” health-and-wealth type book.

It isn’t that type of book at all.

Wilkinson’s little book is about praying for God to expand your ministry opportunities.  He does a pretty decent job of expanding on each part of this unknown man’s prayer, and shows how it has little if anything to do with material wealth, but all about praying for, discovering, and acting on God’s will for your life no matter what your circumstance.  I do wish he would have changed the language a bit, because people from certain backgrounds could misconstrue the message of the book for a prosperity pseudo-gospel.  But over all, I’m glad I read it.

A decent little read.  Better late than never.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Log Off of YouTube and Read Something and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Log Off of YouTube and Read Something: The Prayer of Jabez

  1. David Willis says:

    I read it when it came out and I didn’t get the big controversy at the time. I also didn’t get the big deal. I thought it was a brief solid read & it got me thinking about my prayer. It’s funny how the Christian market produces so many fad books that don’t last. I guess the latest is The Shack. I tried but couldn’t get very far. Maybe one day. Maybe not.

Leave a Reply

