I Was in Jail…

Well, I wasn’t.  But a lot of people are here in Greenville.

I’m becoming more convicted that we’re to reach out to those who need Jesus most here in Greenville.  One of those groups are the incarcerated.  I talked to the head of a brand spankin’ new program for mentoring non-violent offenders as they prepare to re-enter society.  Mentors would start working with inmates 90 days before their release, and would continue to follow them after their release.  Needless to say, this could be huge.  It will be at least six weeks before anyone is allowed into the prison.  This is a huge chance to get in on the ground floor.  Even though I’ll be busy with a brand new baby girl in six weeks, I’m still going to do what I can to get involved.  Jesus’ words in Matthew 25 keep ringing in my head…

My parents are involved in a similar program in VA.  They’re continually blown away by how grateful prisoners are that someone just comes to see them.  I’ve seen what they do first-hand, and it’s making a huge difference.  I’m going to be praying big time about this, and hoping that it is something that can be used to make multiplying disciples of Jesus that can leave prison and make, not just a new life for themselves, but show people the power of the gospel, and even see new churches sprout.

Please pray for this effort, especially for the prisoners, and for me (to discern God’s will).  I’ll post more as this evolves.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Coaching/Mentoring, Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

