Late Night Musings

It’s nearly midnight. We’re trying to get Layla to sleep. She’s chowin’ down, and we’re listening to “Baby Go Beatles”, which is a bunch of Beatles tunes… in lullaby form. Insanely cool. A little weird. Apparently, there’s a whole series of these CDs, including some of my favorites (Nirvana, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Smashing Pumpkins).

Anyway, my brain gets revved up at night. Here are some things I’ve wondered about recently…

  • I don’t think a person can truly appreciate the incarnation of Jesus until they’re holding their infant child. That God would submit Himself to frail human flesh…
  • Homemade peanut butter fudge milkshakes are da bomb.
  • My wife is frickin’ amazing!
  • Hospice is the ultimate career paradox: how can someone’s impending death be both so incredibly heartbreaking and rewarding–often at the same time?
  • I heart Christmas. A lot. We’ve already watched Christmas Vacation several times. We’re finally breaking out the decorations tomorrow!
  • Our new friends, the Browns, could be the coolest people this side of planet earth.
  • My 7 year old is brilliant. My 3 year old is, too.
  • My 2 week old is greedy (our Administrative Assisstant’s way of saying she eats a lot) and likes to party late at night. She’s also very gassy. Like father, like daughter.
  • Raking pine needles will be reserved for hell’s most notorious residents.
  • I miss MNF at O’Cool’s. I’m set to come off the DL on Monday.
  • Speaking of football, the Cutler trade isn’t working out so well for my Bears. 13 of his league leading 17 INTs have come in three losses that should have been wins. Chicago should be 7-2. The reality: 4-5 with no confidence, a very suspect yet deteriorated by injuries defense, and a whiney QB who literally throws away games.
  • Cultivating relationships takes time. It’s well worth the effort.
  • Several years ago, I drove past an adult bookstore once a week on the way to a friend’s house. I started praying for the owner, employees, and customers, and that God would close its doors each time I drove past it. It only took a year of praying, and the place closed down. Now here in NC, I noticed one on my way to work. Time to start praying again–and I pass this one one the way to and from work, 5 days a week.
  • A weekly event changes few lives. Close friendships lived out in real life under the influence of the Holy Spirit can change people, neighborhoods, and the world.

That’s enough for tonite. Layla’s almost asleep. Hope she’ll let us do the same!

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

