A Few End o’ the Year Thoughts (Part 1)

Another couple of days and 2009 will be history.  This has been, without a doubt, the most eventful year of my life.  I can safely say it’s also been the most eventful year for our family since Laura and I got hitched back in ’98.  Here’s some of what happened this year:

  • Laura came home with a card that read “Surprise!”  Baby #3 was on the way!
  • Super Bowl XLIII was one of, if not the most exciting Super Bowls in history.  I didn’t care who won the game, I just wanted the game to be good.  It was an instant classic.
  • We put our house up for sale the day after the Super Bowl.
  • I appointed elders for Discovery Christian Church, the church I planted in ’02 in Harrisonburg VA and transitioned to a network of organic churches in early ’07.  They continue to make disciples in the mountains of VA!
  • We sold the house five weeks later, which is a split second in this market.  Glory be to God!
  • We moved to Greenville, NC at the very end of May… to find out the bank f%*#ed up our loan.  They patched something together and got us into our house a day after we were supposed to get in it.  And they forced us to give them an additional $7,000 to get the deal done.  Fortunately, we had the cash from the sale of our previous house.  Unfortunately, Laura could only take six weeks off with the baby because of their screw up.  But we’re here.  The Lord has generously provided for us.  I really can’t, and shouldn’t, complain.  However…  Do not go to First Citizens for any of your banking needs!
  • Before we sold our house, I called a hospice organization to inquire about a chaplain position in Greenville.  I’d never envisioned myself as a chaplain, especially in hospice.  My boss eventually told me she had about nine other candidates to choose from, and she didn’t like any of them.  She needed, however, to make a decision.  She was about to when I took a risk and called her out of the blue and asked for an interview… without being able to guarantee when I would be able to start work.  She agreed.  I got the job.  The rest is history.  Now, eight months into the gig, I can’t imagine doing anything else to pay the bills.
  • Layla Joy showed up on October 26.
  • My girls got the surprise of their little lives on Christmas morning (thanks, Grammy and Poppa!).
  • We’ve been working and praying toward making disciples of Jesus and seeing new churches sprout organically here and in other places.  As of today, we’re still “spreading seeds” and waiting to see if others take root.

Tomorrow, I’ll share some thoughts about my transition from “professional Christianity.”

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts, New Year's Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

