A Few End o’ the Year Thoughts (Part 4)

This series has turn into quite few end o’ the year thoughts.  Today, I’m wrapping up ’09 by looking at some things I want to do in ’10.

  1. I’m going to worry less. This is ironic, because it seems like we’ve trusted God more in ’09 than in any previous year.  We trusted Him to get our house sold, to get us moved, to provide for us when Laura didn’t have any work for about six weeks in the summer and when she was on maternity leave.  Yet, I still find myself worrying about things that are honestly small.  This past week, I’ve been stewing about how I’m going to afford to replace my Explorer’s tires (on of which was flat) and get the transmission serviced.  I’ve really worried about it.  Two days ago, I just stopped.  Worrying wasn’t doing anything for me.  For Pete’s sake (whoever Pete is), I regularly interact with people who will be gone in six months from this life, and I do so on a daily basis.  A flat tire is nothing compared to losing a battle with cancer or dementia.  I’m going to worry less.
  2. I’m going to be healthier. If you know me at all, you know this is a tall order.  I don’t exercise, and I eat lots of grease.  I’m going to make some changes to move more and eat less.  That’s it.  No major diet changes, no buying any stupid workout spandex.  Just move more, eat less.
  3. I’m going to spend more time with people who don’t know Jesus. I’ve already been doing this pretty regularly, and will do so more often this year.
  4. I’m going to serve more. There are a lot of needs in Greenville.  Laura and I both are going to serve more, finding our niche here in G-Vegas to be Jesus to people.
  5. I’m going to continue planting and cultivating seeds, working toward an organic church sprouting. This is my main deal, and I’ve discovered that it takes time when done from scratch.  I’m content with that.  I’m going to keep being intentional about this.
  6. I’m going to pray more. This will just build on ’09.  I prayed more in ’09 than any year in my life, and I will continue to build on that foundation.
  7. I’m going to spend more time in the Bible. My goal is ridiculously ambitious here:  I want to read or listen to the New Testament 24 times this year–twice a month.  That’s about an hour a day for me.  Fortunately, I have an audio New Testament on my phone, and lots of travel time between some patients.
  8. I’m going to be a better husband and father this year. This isn’t just a yearly goal, but a daily one.  I can’t believe Laura has put up with me for over 11 years.  This year has been both the best, yet one of the hardest, years of our marriage.  A lot of changes, but we’re a team–and I couldn’t have a better person to spend this journey of life with.  I love ya, babe!

Maybe I should just sum it up this way:  I’m going to be a better follower of Jesus in ’10.

Happy New Year to you.  See you on Monday.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts, New Year's Resolutions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

