“You’re Fired!” (Part 1)

"One more smart@$$ remark about my comb over, and..."

I thought “The Apprentice” was dead.  Gone.  Pushing up daisies and suckin’ rainwater.  I guess not.  Yet another season of “The Celebrity Apprentice” will air soon on NBC (the genius network that screwed over Conan in favor of Giganti-jaw).  For weeks, all twenty-three viewers will watch a bunch of has-been D-list celebrities sit in Donny Trump’s boardroom to hear those iconicly-annoying words…

“You’re fired!

No one likes to get fired from a job.  It’s nerve-wracking, embarrassing, and sometimes undeserved.  The person fired loses face, often has to scramble to find another job, and will have a lot of explaining to do to prospective employers.

I was in professional ministry for over ten years.  I was never fired from a position, although my home church did not want me to come back for a second summer internship (which many people found strange).  I did, however, hear of many people who were fired from their ministry positions.  Some firings seemed justified.  Others did not.  The longer I was in professional ministry, the more I wondered if the hire/fire system that the American church has used for decades is really the right system.

My conclusion?  You’ll have to keep reading this week to find out.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Church, Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “You’re Fired!” (Part 1)

  1. Davon says:

    Hi Aaron,

    Well, basically I was fired from a church. (Technically the elders asked me to resign and I did, but is there really much of a difference) The main reason was that I was not the right fit for the ministry there. This is probably true but after 6 years of ministry with them I should have been able to have a better ending to that ministry. The elders asked me to resign and they said my last Sunday would be tomorrow. Now if I had done something immoral I could see this as valid but I did nothing immoral. If anything I was being the best me I could be and that did not suit them, but is that immoral? I don’t think so.

    I did as they said but looking back I would definitely not do it that way again. People were so mad and upset. It was like a family reunion gone violent. I think this is the problem. Instead of viewing the church as a family, it was viewed as a business. In business an employee can be let go without much emotional bloodletting, but a church is a different story. Why? Because we are supposed to be a family!!!

    Oh well, I and my family are still working through our hurt, pain and loss. I pray that someone else or another church learns from my experience.

    Be joyful always,
    Davon Huss

Leave a Reply

