I’d Like to File a Complaint

Psalm 142

There’s an unspoken rule in old school American Christendom about God:   you never, ever complain to Him.  You never question Him.  You never ask Him “Why?”  You set your jaw, grit your teeth, and bear whatever burden life has forced upon you and God, in His own good time, will bring you out of it.  Just don’t say a word to Him about it.  The reason for this way of thinking is complaining seems out of place with reverence.  We’re to revere God, and complain is supposedly not reverence.  It’s as if we would insult God by telling him about our problems.

If that’s true, then God is a pretty small God.

Psalm 142 was written by someone in distress.  Look what they write in Psalm 142:1-3,

I cry aloud with my voice to the Lord ;
I make supplication with my voice to the Lord .

I pour out my complaint before Him;
I declare my trouble before Him.

When my spirit was overwhelmed within me,
You knew my path.
In the way where I walk
They have hidden a trap for me.

We can file a complain with God.  His big enough–bigger than enough–to handle our complaints.

As finite humans, we sometimes miss the forest for the trees (as the old saying goes).  We get caught up in our own drama.  We can’t see past our own problems (and I’m not talking about inconsequential problems–I’m talking about big, life-changing problems).  Yet God “knows [our] path.”  He can see the forest when we’re focused on a few trees.  He knows our pain.  He’s acquainted with our sorrow.  He is stricken with grief at our pain.  When everything within us cries out for an ear to bend, He can handle it.

God is more than enough for our needs.  He can hear every cry of our hearts.  And when the storm passes, we can look back with gratitude and see how God used that time to break us, mold us, and shape us.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Bible Readings: Psalms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’d Like to File a Complaint

  1. Rebekah says:

    I really liked this. I grew up being tought that as well. Im glad that God I know now is bigger and better then the God I was tought about as a child.

Leave a Reply

