Monday Mind Dump

It's been a long time since I've done one of these.  And I've got a ton on my mind that needs to be dumped!

  • This was actually written late Saturday night.  Does that technically make it a Saturday mind dump even though it's posted on a Monday?
  • As of Saturday night, I'm winning my NCAA tourney bracket.  Pretty good, considering I picked Kansas to win it all.
  • Black Christians really know how to put the "fun" in funeral.  White folks, we need to celebrate more at memorials!
  • My youngest daughter is drooling fart machine.  Or a farting drool machine.   Not sure which.
  • I need to take time out to write on my next book!
  • My job is VERY busy right now.  But I love it.
  • I started with about 15 patients.  After next Wednesday, I'll officially have 30 plus a bereavement case load of around 60 families.
  • I'm not sure, but I think I've finally come to the conclusion that I'm no longer a church planter.  A disciple maker, yes.  If you make multiplying disciples, churches will sprout.  That's a great relief.
  • My wife is AMAZINGLY AWESOME.
  • My girls are also AMAZINGLY AWESOME.
  • Started watching Lost about six weeks ago.  It was great… until Season 4's finale.  Definitely a jump the shark/nuke the fridge moment for me.  Unless you're Michael J.  Fox driving a contraption built by Christopher Lloyd, or you're Austin Powers, time travel sucks.
  • Unfortunately, I'm now invested.  I must finish the series.
  • Jim Gaffigan could be the funniest man alive.
  • Speaking of which, I wish I had some cake.
  • Sunday is the most segregated day of the week.  It's a travesty that we must work to correct.  Because there is not a black church and a white church.  It's just one church (read Ephesians if you don't believe it).
  • I miss great grunge music.  Even the bands that are left from that era aren't producing great music anymore.
  • I don't read the Bible enough.  Or pray with enough intensity.
  • I really dig the people I hang it with on Monday evenings.
  • My buddy Ned just might be the coolest dude in Greenville, if not the entire human population.
  • Jesus is truly, amazingly, mind-bogglingly gracious.  I realize it more every day.
  • Death is the great equalizer.  It destroys many boundaries man has created–racial, economic, and social.
  • The church I planted in VA is still making new disciples.  I'm so stoked (wow, haven't used that word in awhile) at how the Holy Spirit works through ordinary people who trust Jesus.
  • Chompin' at the bit to finally get started mentoring some inmates.
  • It is both with great sadness and relief to see our patients admitted to our hospice services.
  • I really miss Jess' hot dogs.  I don't care what my wonderful wife and mother-in-law says, Bill's hot dogs are crap on a bun compared to Jess'.
  • Smoked my first cigar of the season on Friday.  It was scrumtrulescent.
  • I smoked it with a dear friend who's wife was a patient of mine until she passed away last year.  He's doing very well.  I'm honored to know him.  I think we could solve life's problems over a cigar and a splash of sherry.
  • I haven't seen a truly great movie in awhile.  I need to raid my movie closet again.
  • I'm missing SNL.
  • I don't care that I'm missing SNL.  I need to go to bed so I can get up in the morning.
  • Exterior decorating is fast becoming an obsession of mine.  Too bad I have no clue what I'm doing.
  • I could go on and on…

…but I need to stop.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Monday Mind Dump and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

