Log Off of YouTube and Read Something… Else

I was in Barnes & Noble  last week and finally succumbed to something I’ve known for years.  I’m terribly under-read in everything except the mechanics of the American church.  I’ve read dozens of great books on the church, but have neglected just about everything else.  That’s not exactly something I’m proud of.  I know slavish devotion to books it detrimental because it can keep you from interacting with the real world.  But being well-rounded in your reading doesn’t hurt either.

I’m still going to read some church-related books.  There are some really smart guys producing some really sharp works (namely Neil Cole and Alan Hirsch, among others).  But I’m also adding to my reading diet.  I want to go old school and new school, fiction and non-fiction, print and digital.  I’ll always maintain a steady intake of Scripture, but I’m also going to intake other things, especially those I may not agree with.

So here’s where I’m starting…

  • Hot, Flat, and Crowded by Thomas Friedman.  I really liked his best-seller The World is Flat. This is a “green” book, and I’m not really hip on “green”, so it’ll be a good mental exercise for me.
  • Letter to a Christian Nation by Sam Harris.  I was asked to read this book by a good friend who wants to know what I think of Harris’ scathing view of Christianity.  Looking forward to it.
  • Church 3.0 by Neil Cole.  I love Neil’s stuff, even the stuff I disagree with.  Neil’s a huge proponent of simple/organic church planting through the exponential multiplication of disciples.
  • Untamed by Alan Hirsch.  Hirsch is as close to church genius as they come.  Having read his instant classic The Forgotten Ways, I’m really looking forward to what he and his wife have to say about making followers of Jesus in this book.

From here, I’m not sure where I’ll go.  I’ll develop a list of books as I go along, alternating church books as I go (since the church is a passion of mine), and I’ll certainly include biographies of Presidents.  Bible-wise, I listen to the New Testament when I’m on the road between patients.  I’ve made it through three plus times so far this year, so I need to concentrate on some Old Testament stuff.  I’ve already started by beginning work on my next book–a four volume devotional through Psalms.  I’m really looking forward to this new journey.

Any suggestions for where else to go–books, non-church/Christian blogs, etc.?

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Log Off of YouTube and Read Something and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Log Off of YouTube and Read Something… Else

  1. Levi says:

    Hey I was challenged to read Dan Brown’s book “The Lost Symbol” by a unitarian gentleman that i ran into and it’s some good fiction and raises many questions, not sure where I stand on it. I was challenged and did enjoy it. Haven’t read any of his other stuff but may just to be up to date on it.

    Churchy stuff I’ve read lately that i enjoy is Francis Chan and Nelson Searcy.

    Anyways brother, look forward to hearing what you are reading as it may spark me to pick up a book I haven’t heard of before.

    • Aaron says:

      Yo Levi,

      I read “The Da Vinci Code” and was not impressed. Of course, I already knew the shaky foundation behind the book. I’ll certainly let you know what I pick up.

Leave a Reply

