RLT Cinema: Muse’s “Thoughts of a Dying Atheist”

Today’s feature on RLT Cinema is from current “it” band Muse.  It’s a live version of their song “Thoughts of a Dying Atheist.”  The RLT Cinema player is located in the widget sidebar on the right.  Simply click the top video to start playing it (for the studio version, click here).

Some thought-provoking lyrics:

Eerie whispers trapped beneath my pillow
Won’t let me sleep, your memories I know you’re in this room,
I’m sure I heard you sigh
Floating in-between where our worlds collide

Scares the hell out of me
And the end is all I can see
And it scares the hell out of me
And the end is all I can see

Yeah yeah yeah…

I know the moments near
And there’s nothing we can do
Look through a faithless eye
Are you afraid to die?

It scares the hell out of me
And the end is all I can see
And it scares the hell out of me
And the end is all I can see

Yeah yeah yeah…

It scares the hell out of me
And the end is all I can see
And it scares the hell out of me
And the end is all I can see

Yeah yeah yeah…

What are your thoughts on death and the possibility of the afterlife?  How does that belief (or non-belief) affect how you live now?

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts, RLT Cinema. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RLT Cinema: Muse’s “Thoughts of a Dying Atheist”

  1. Frances says:

    I’ve often believed that “heaven” is different for everyone. A long time ago I read this notion that we actually judge our life when it is all said and done. We must look back and see the results of our actions and then we decide whether we should move on to “heaven” , “purgatory” or “hell”. Its that notion that keeps me constantly striving to be a better person and to do my best to be good to those around me and amend for wrongs as best I can.
    There is something in me that believes and wants an afterlife. But there is also a part of me that is at peace with the thought of their being nothing. That to drives me to make the most and the best of my time on earth.

Leave a Reply

