Hey Jealousy

Last week, I had a friend ask me a great question.  But first, the backstory:

A year ago, I self-published my first book, The Jumbo Shrimp Gospel.  I sold a little over 50 copies, and from the feedback I’ve received, I’m estimating that each copy has been read by at least four people.  So, several hundred people have read the book, and all the feedback I’ve received has been overwhelmingly positive.  I couldn’t be more thrilled.  I’ve never been deluded into thinking that I would ever write a best seller.  I just wanted to produce something that followers of Jesus would benefit from, regardless if it was twenty or twenty million.

In addition to writing JSG, I was asked by my buddy Vince to help edit the early drafts of his newest book, Guerrilla Lovers.  The book has done tremendously well.  Vince and his publisher paired the book with some free resources as well as a website for people to interact and share their stories resulting from the book.  His first book, I Became a Christian and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt, not only wins the award for longest book title ever, but was an amazing success.  Vince just started work on his third book, and again asked me to help with the early edits.  Long story short, you should really pick up one of Vince’s books.

Now to the question…

My friend, knowing all of the above, asked me a simple question:  “Do you ever get jealous?”

Great question.

There was a time when I would have been.  I’ve always struggled with pride.  When I started Discovery Christian Church back in VA, I was certain it would become the next “it” church.  I was convinced I would be leading a church of 1,000 or more before I was thirty, that I would be asked to speak at conferences and write books.  None of it materialized.  We broke 100 people on a Sunday one time in my eight years leading the church.  I would hear of a newer church starting in the area that would grow to several hundred people in a short amount of time, and I would get discouraged.  It took a long time for God to get my attention and show me the importance of simply being faithful to Him and contentment.  When we transitioned the church to a network of house churches, I was finally at peace with not being the biggest and the best.  I just wanted to be involved in what God was doing, and helping others advance the kingdom, regardless if I got any credit or not.  Looking back, it was only through the Holy Spirit’s working that my attitudes and actions were changed.

So the answer to my friend’s question?  No, I’m not jealous of him at all.  I’m just excited to help a buddy advance the kingdom of God.

How have you experienced jealousy, and how did you deal with it?

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts, Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

