Walking the Road: 6/21/10 Edition (Part 1)

Every Monday, I’m going to post links to some thought-provoking blogs I’ve read in the past week from people who are trying to follow Jesus. Some posts I agree with; others I don’t. Either way, they stirred my thinking. I hope they’ll do the same for you.

There were so many good posts this week that I’m splitting them up into two days:

Firefighters are for Weak People from The Resurgence
A great post using the metaphor of a person whose house is on fire saying insane things like “I can take care of this fire by myself.  I’m not a weak person!” and driving home the point that, yes, God is indeed for weak people.

Anti-Risk Taker from The Life & Times of Trevor Bryce Lofton
My buddy Trevor wrote an honest post about living a safe life, and how he wants to change it.  Maybe we’re playing it too safe…

The Cycle of Discipleship (Part 1 of 2) from Chris Woolard
A great glimpse into a friendship based on discipleship.  We have this idea that discipleship is a class.  It’s truly based on relationships.

Apparently God Doesn’t Like Gawdy Graven Images from Neil Cole
An interesting take on the massive (in my opinion, butt ugly) styrofoam statue of Jesus that was destroyed by lightning last week.  Worth some thought.

I’m Not Happy from Thirty:  The New Twenty
My sister is in Spain this summer, and took time to write this post on contentment.  As always, great stuff from my baby sis.

To the Ends of the Earth from Neil Cole
Excellent thoughts on the global nature of the gospel of Jesus.

Come back tomorrow for part 2.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts, Walking the Road. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

