RLT Cinema: The Book of Eli

The RLT Cinema player is located in the widget sidebar to the right.  Simply scroll down and click the top video, which is the feature of today’s post.

I finally saw The Book of Eli last week.  It’s one of very few movies I wish I would have paid the cash to see it in the theater, but for some reason (which I no longer remember) I never took the time to do so.  It’s the only movie from Netflix that I kept an extra day to watch again.  It’s one of my new favorite films, and certainly my favorite of the post-apocalyptic genre.

What surprised me the most were the overt Christian themes and references in the film.  Hollywood doesn’t tend to showcase such things.  If you’ve seen the film, you know what happens.  If you haven’t, I’m not going to ruin it for you.  Simply put, this film is one of the best I’ve seen that can provide talking points between believers and non-believers.  Great cinematography, really good acting (Denzel is good, Gary Oldman is really good), and a great story showcasing the power of faith and the corrupting power of religion.

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts, RLT Cinema. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RLT Cinema: The Book of Eli

  1. Justin Dunn says:

    couldnt agree more. so far, my favorite movie of 2010. so, the last scene, when Michael McDowell puts the bible on the shelf next to the Koran/Torah/Book of Morman, what do you think this was saying? a part of me felt like it was saying, in the end it was just another book just like all these other religious books. as soon as he reached the island and the book went into print, i felt so….uneasy. anyway, wanted to see what you thought.

    • Aaron says:

      I totally remember that scene… but might have to adjust the color/contrast on my TV! Don’t remember it going up next to those other books. But I plan on buying it anyway. But I think you’re right. Just another path to God. An uneasy ending to an otherwise brilliant film.

Leave a Reply

