Happy Valentine’s Day

… to my Buttercup, Laura.

On April 24, 1996 at 10:20 PM, we started dating.  She was wearing her Smashing Pumpkins T-shirt, her red hooded seatshirt, her cut-off jeans, and her Chucks.

On April 24, 1997 at 10:30 PM, I asked her to marry me.  She said, “I can’t believe you!  I can’t believe you!”  I had to ask if that was a yes.  It was.

On August 1, 1998, we got married.  It was a storybook wedding.  Over twelve years later, we still have people telling us it was the coolest wedding they’d every attended.

In April, we’ll have been together for fifteen years.  In August, we’ll have been married for thirteen years.  They’ve been the best years of my life.  I’m the luckiest guy on earth.  All you fellas should be jealous.

I love you, babe.  Thank you for loving me, way more than I deserve.  Yoda one for me (always have been, always will be).

About Aaron

Aaron is a follower of Jesus. He's married to his smokin' hot wife Laura and is the father of three adorable girls. He enjoys a robust cigar, a complex root beer, a good movie, writing, football, thought-provoking books, and rousing discussions about subjects you're not supposed to talk about (like theology and politics). Religious people irritate him (because he once was one). He's on a quest to find the perfect dry rub and sauce for ribs.
This entry was posted in Intentional Random Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Jessie says:

    I happened to see your blog linked from Laura’s and I just wanted to tell you that this is just the cutest post ever! Congrats to the both of you.

  2. John McLeod says:

    Well Hello!

    Aaron I have never forgotten you and congrats on your marriage….”buttercup”? Brings back memories LOL. You got to email me soon and we’ll exchange phone numbers and catch up on ministry stuff!

    Married with twin boys–Shane and Bryce (1 1/2 yrs old).

    Love ya brother,
    John

Leave a Reply

